Monthly Archives: March 2015

2013 Aggregate Results

2013 Aggregate Results


2013 Aggregate Results p.2

March 2015 BOM Board Minutes

WPF Board Meeting 16th March 2015

 In attendance:           R Russell; M Portelli; C Abela; D Vatsakis; C Cachia;  J Farrugia; J Muscat; J Smith; A Papadakis; T Holwell; and J Pulis

Apologies:     J Angelino

President Ray Russell opened the meeting at 7.40 pm and he welcomed all new and returning board members

Previous AGM minutes were read and received.

Moved:    J Farrugia                          Seconded:  C Cachia

Correspondence received:

1)              Brimbank City Council invited the WPF to the Council Network

2)              Smith & Henry has moved from Deer Park Club to Altona City Club

Finance Report:

Finance and Treasury report was read. All in order.

Moved: C Cachia                                Seconded: J Farrugia


Election of Office Bearers 2015

Position Member



Vice President J Farrugia M Portelli J Pulis
Junior Vice President J Pulis M Portelli J Muscat
Assistant Secretary C Cachia D Vatsakis J Muscat
Minute Secretary C Cachia D Vatsakis J Muscat
Ring Secretary P Pulis R Russell M Portelli
Chronometer Marshall C Abela R Russell M Portelli
Clock Marshall – STB T Holwell R Russell M Portelli
Clock Marshall – Electronic M Portelli C Cachia J Pulis
Property Officer D Vatsakis C Abela M Portelli
Liberation Committee 1 M Portelli R Russell C Cachia
Liberation Committee 2 J Smith R Russell C Cachia
Room Stewards A Papadakis R Russell C Cachia
Room Stewards J Smith R Russell C Cachia
Transport maintain existing R Russell C Cachia
Convoyer No Nominations – who wants to be Convoyer
Trailer Safety Officer C Abela R Russell C Cachia
Brimbank Council Ray Russell C Abela M Portelli
J Muscat R Russell C Cachia


 Response to letters:

1)      Ray Russell & Joe Muscat will represent the WPF on the 1st of April 2015.

2)      Noted.

Moved:    D Vatsakis                          Seconded:  C Cachia

General Business

Ring colour for 2016 will be Green and 16,000 rings will be ordered

1st Tintinara will be nominated for the Gallipoli 100 year race.

J Farrugia and M Portelli would like to say thank you to all members who supported their inaugural squeaker sale for Pigeon Racing Victoria Inc.

They successfully raised over $14,000 which will be used to promote the sport. Well done great effort!

Don’t forget!

In 2015 we will celebrate finish off the year with a WPF dinner dance on Friday the 27th of November 2015. Each member will receive a complimentary ticket as part of their yearly membership. Venue and costs for partners and guests to be advised in due course.

Pigeon Radio; run by Ivan Fonti – Melton Pigeon Club on 99.3 FM Phone 9740 4910

Eastern Standard Time. Start 4 pm finish 6 pm



Next meeting  13th of April 2015 at 7.30 pm

Meeting closed: 9.45pm

Ray Russell



W.P.F. Annual Genneral Meeting 2015

Meeting opened 8.00 pm

Given we only had 28 financial members present we had to wait ½ hour before we could start.

Previous AGM Minutes:

Minutes from 2014 AGM were read and received.

Moved J Berto

Seconded: J Angelino

Business Arriving from Previous AGM Minutes:

M Bennett asked why WPF section was not on our current agenda. Advised it was not part of WPF AGM guidelines.

Despite this it was moved by M Portelli that Bacchus Marsh and Melton to have there own section.

Carried by all members

None against.

Members are encouraged any issue they wish raised in the AGM to be submitted via there clubs in November of each year

19th of January 2015 B.O.M Minutes

Minutes from the January board of management were read and received.

Moved: J Pulis

Seconded: C Cachia

Finance Report”

Treasure Mr C Abela presented the cash flow statements and reports for the period ending 30/12/2014.

The treasurer’s report was read and received.

Moved: J Muscat

Seconded: J Berto



Election of Office Bearers

President nominations:

Ray Russell

Nominated: D Vatzakis

Seconded: J Muscat

Secretary / Public Officer:

Michael Portelli

Nominated: R Russell

Seconded: C Abela


C Abela

Nominated: C Cachia

Seconded: R Russell

All above were elected unopposed.

Board Members Nominations

T Holwell nominated by R Russell Seconded D Vatzakis

C Cachia nominated by R Russell seconded D Vatzakis

J Muscat nominated by R Russell Seconded D Vatzakis

J Angelino nominated by C Cachia Seconded D Vatsakis

D Vatzakis nominated by R Russell Seconded by C Cachia

J Smith nominated by M Portelli Seconded D Vatsakis

J Farrugia nominated by C Cachia Seconded M Portelli

J Pulis nominated by J Farrugia Seconded C Bonnici

A Papadakis nominated by J Muscat Seconded J Berto



General Business

It was moved by C Abela that any future board member must have 3 year consecutive flying experience with the WPF to be a board member. Seconded: T Abraham.

Defeated 24 against.

M Portelli moved that a board members must be a current flying member. Seconded B Webber.

Carried 20 for; 8 against.



T Abraham moved that honorariums be increased by $100 each. Seconded J Fontana

All in favour.


Closed 9.15 pm